LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Cycling My Aquarium

Home Forums Fresh and Brackish Water Fishes Cycling My Aquarium

This topic contains 86 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  keith565 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 87 total)
  • Author

Sofia

Hi there,

First of all, this is a great site that has helped me a lot so far.

I am new to fishkeeping, but have done quite a bit of research so far.
    I am getting the complete tropical aquarium set from TetraTec.
    I know that the aquarium needs to mature and that the bacteria grows in the filter. A book I read stated now that live bacteria should be introduced to aid the maturing of the tank for the first 2 months. However, the tank comes with the Tetratec Easy Crystal Filter 250. This uses exchangeable filter pads. Do you know if those come preloaded with the bacteria? If they don’t I will never achieve a mature aquarium in the first place.

Sorry, this might be a daft question.

Another question I have is that of gravel size. I read on here that it should be medium gravel (2-3mm). Apart from size, are there any differences? I am planning to have plants, do I need special gravel for them?

Thanks for your help,

Sofia

dunc
    Keymaster

Welcome to the website, Sofia here discussing all aspects of “cycling an aquarium”, but I’ll try and summarise things for you.