LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Finrot

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Matt 8 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

kimberley88
    Participant

I recently bought a tank with fish from a friend.
    I’m new to fish keeping so forgive me if I seem clueless.
    I’ve noticed one of female platty’s who is pregnant has finrot.
    Any suggestions on treating her?

Plaamoo
    Participant

Hi Kimberley,
    Have you tested your water conditions? PH, Ammonia, Nitrates etc.? How’s your water change routine? In my limited experience these problems are often a result of poor water quality.

Bluedave
    Participant

Melafix should sort it in the short term but as Plaamoo said it is usually down to poor water quality.

kimberley88
    Participant

Thanks guys. I’m treatin the rtank at the moment as the amonia is a little high. 0.25.
    A LFS suggested leaving her die but I don’t wanna do that.

Plaamoo
    Participant

There should be no ammonia kimberley. If the tank was established(cycled) when your friend had it there was likely a problem in the move that caused some or all of your good bacteria to die. I’d do daily water changes, maybe 20%, till the cycle gets settled and there is no ammonia present. Be careful following the advice of an LFS, some are good, and some just want to sell you something.

kimberley88
    Participant

QUOTE (plaamoo @ Jan 7 2010, 04:21 PM) < {POST_SNAPBACK}>
    There should be no ammonia kimberley. If the tank was established(cycled) when your friend had it there was likely a problem in the move that caused some or all of your good bacteria to die. I’d do daily water changes, maybe 20%, till the cycle gets settled and there is no ammonia present. Be careful following the advice of an LFS, some are good, and some just want to sell you something.