LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Hikari Tropical Shrimp Cuisine…

Home Forums Invertebrates & Other Critters Hikari Tropical Shrimp Cuisine…

This topic contains 14 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Malti 7 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Daddyfish
    Participant

Hi Guys,

I’ve noticed that Hikari Tropical Shrimp Cuisine has Copper Sulfate as an ingredient, so won’t this be harmful to the shrimp? I’m new to shrimp keeping having taken ownership of 21 Red Cherry Shrimp yesterday, but having done some research before receiving them I found out that copper is very harmful to shrimp, so what gives?

By the way, any help/hints/advice will be greatly appreciated from the more experienced shrimp keepers among you! /thumbs_up.gif” style=”vertical-align:middle” emoid=”:thumbsup:” border=”0″ alt=”thumbs_up.gif” />

Neil

Bully
    Participant

Trace amounts of copper are essential for shrimp as it is used for transporting oxygen, much like haemoglobin carries oxygen for humans. However, it’s a fine line between necessity and toxicity where invertebrates are concerned. The levels that are in shrimp cuisine are fine for shrimp. That being said, if the shrimp are sharing a tank with fish then I would not bother getting the food for them, it’s unlikely they’ll get to it before the fish will. The shrimp will just as happily consume standard fish food.

Malti
    Participant

what bully just said…and if you have fish with them and are concerned they won’t find any food, just drop in some when you switch off the lights, will give them more than ample chance to eat

Daddyfish
    Participant

Cheers chaps, yeah there is fish, my son picked himself three guppies out earlier today (not my choice), so I’ll keep the Shrimp food in the wings.

keith565
    Participant