LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

How Big To Accurately Id?

Home Forums My Aquarium How Big To Accurately Id?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Matt 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Waterlogged

This may seem like an odd question relating to an odd bunch of fish species, but hopefully someone can help me. I am looking into getting more involved in keeping fish, but as I am only new to it I don’t want to get ripped off. Can anyone tell me at what size (in cms or inches) you can accurately ID the following species:

Butterfly Pleco
    Checkerboard Cichlid
    Bumblebee Catfish
    Paradise fish
    Licorice Gourami
    African Cichlid
    Golden Barb
    Sawbwa Barb

These are the species that I have been warned can be swapped for something else if they are too small, so I need to know what sizes I should look for.

Any help is appreciated

Plaamoo
    Participant

Hi Waterlogged. My first bit of advice would be to learn the true names of the fish you’re talking about. “licorice gourami” for instance is a common name for the parosphromenus sp. in my experience. P deissneri is the most common but there are many. It’s a daunting task to learn the “scientific” names as opposed to the common names, but common names vary from distributor to shop, different areas. I’ve seen the same fish in my LFS in two different tanks with 2 different names more than once!

Waterlogged

QUOTE (Waterlogged @ Jan 19 2011, 11:58 AM) < {POST_SNAPBACK}>
    This may seem like an odd question relating to an odd bunch of fish species, but hopefully someone can help me. I am looking into getting more involved in keeping fish, but as I am only new to it I don’t want to get ripped off. Can anyone tell me at what size (in cms or inches) you can accurately ID the following species:

Butterfly Pleco