LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

New Tank

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  JazzBora150 6 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

JazzBora150
    Participant

im starting with a new tank no hood or base

any suggestions on either would be well appreciated

if anyone has drawings for either that would be good

how many lights will i need the tank is 6ft x 18in x 2ft

you gotta just love d.i.y.

Plaamoo
    Participant

Hey JB,

A few quick points;
    It’s very important for a tank that size to have the top of the stand perfectly flat! if not it may tweak the glass and cause a disaster. I build my own stands, mostly with simple 2x4s. I’m a carpenter/cabinetmaker by trade so I have the tools and know how. It depends on you whether you’re up to the task?

I like to use glass tops. I usually buy the commercial ones made for the specific tank size. I like them for several reasons; they make a good seal, easy to clean, and you can set all sorts of lights on top.

JazzBora150
    Participant

i understand about the importance of it being 100%level

i also think i like the idea of a glass top but im not exactly sure what it would look like as ive never seen one before

martin

Plaamoo
    Participant

Level & flat aren’t the same thing. Level is good, you’ll see the difference at the water line at the top of the tank if it’s not. Flat, all four corners and everything in between on the same plane, is imperative! That flat plane can be tipped forward, backward, or to one end, and still be flat.Some people add different kinds of foam mats to the top of stands/under tanks. I’ve never liked this personally.

Another thing I like about glass tops is that you don’t see them, only the lights that you choose to put on top. Lights can also be hung from above.

JazzBora150
    Participant