LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Riu Ripoll 08.05.2014

Home Forums Field Trips & Conservation Riu Ripoll 08.05.2014

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Matt 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Matt
    Keymaster

Went on a short field trip with uni yesterday and visited this nice spot not too far away from Barcelona. Unfortunately invasive fishes were equally abundant as native ones although there were lots of both!

0001.jpg0005.jpg

Gambusia holbrooki

0008.jpg

Barbus meridionalis

0019.jpg

Squalius cephalus (young one)

0023.jpg

Lepomis sp. Does anyone know which one?

0027.jpg0029.jpg0032.jpg

0011.jpg0035.jpg

coelacanth
    Participant

Matt said 

Lepomis sp. Does anyone know which one?

Look like ‘seeds to me, though I’m no expert.

Matt
    Keymaster

That would be L. gibbosus then?

coelacanth
    Participant

Yep, I think that’s what they are.

coelacanth
    Participant

I’d go with what came back from FB, I agree with the concerns that people have regarding their exact identity, best way would be to pop a few off and key them out (with DNA as back-up).

Is it known how Lepomis entered the Iberian region? Would be interesting to look at whether any hybridisation event took place before or after introduction. 

Matt
    Keymaster

First records seem to be from 1910 at Lake Banyoles (which we visited when you were over) for ‘improvement of wild stocks’. Here’s an extract from a 2001 paper which explains a little more: