LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Tukano Tetra

This topic contains 14 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Duffill 8 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

alanvass
    Participant

Hi Guys
    Just got very rare Tucanoichthys Tucano. A very small characin named after the Tukano Indians. Any one know anthing about this species. Alan

keith565
    Participant

never heard of it mate, be interesting to find out more about it.

Cool_Citrus
    Participant

cool, any pictures? Or atleast a description on what they look like?

Richy
    Participant

Googles is your best freind LINK click here

Google it for images aswell.

Excellent database here on SF but i didnt see it unless its been reclassified.

I have NO experience with this fish but hope the pbase link helps a little

Matt
    Keymaster

No we don’t cover it at present. All I know is that it’s a funny one because it doesn’t have an adipose fin. Will try to get a copy of the description paper Alan.

Edit: it’s from the Rio Uaup├ęs so should be a blackwater fish.

Mark Duffill
    Participant

I did read that there have been problems with this fish in the fact that it is a Characin but as yet cannot really be classified to any existing genus or sub-family.

Maximum size would appear to be around 17mm SL and they seem to do best at pH ranging from 5.5 up to 6.5, unfortunately that’s about it.

It is a lovely looking little fish though, it is surprising that it has taken so long to be seen in the trade considering it was described in 1997. Looking at FB natural populations seem to reproduce readily and in large quantities so I don’t think it will be long before someone spawns them.

Mark Duffill
    Participant

QUOTE (Matt @ Apr 29 2009, 09:30 AM) < {POST_SNAPBACK}>
    All I know is that it’s a funny one because it doesn’t have an adipose fin.