LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

Wild Zebra Danios?

Home Forums Fresh and Brackish Water Fishes Wild Zebra Danios?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Matt 6 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

jfb
    Participant

I’m wondering if anyone knows if zebra danios (danio rerio) can survive the winter in any of the southern US states (TX, FL, sourthern CA, etc…) either in an outdoor pond or somewhere more natural like a stream or bay. I’ve found some web pages where people claim to have found zebra danios in the wild, but it’s not clear to me if they are really established anywhere. Any details (where and when) would be really appreciated. I’m a postdoc interested in comparing laboratory fish to more wildtype ones, without going to the Himalayas and getting truly native fish. I’m a novice so any input would be appreciated.

Martin Tversted
    Participant

Many danios and related fish can easily take at least down to 10C. Especially species from northern India and northern/highland Myanmar. Many are much more cold hardy than what you would be lieve. Ive had a few Danio magaritatus below 10C for a few weeks now.

Martin

jfb
    Participant

Hi Martin, thanks for the info. Are the fish outdoors (and if so where approximately) or is the 10C you mention in a controlled environment?

QUOTE (Martin Tversted @ Feb 4 2012, 05:55 AM) < {POST_SNAPBACK}>
    Many danios and related fish can easily take at least down to 10C. Especially species from northern India and northern/highland Myanmar. Many are much more cold hardy than what you would be lieve. Ive had a few Danio magaritatus below 10C for a few weeks now.

Martin

Martin Tversted
    Participant