LOGIN

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
GLOSSARY       

SEARCHGLOSSARY

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

PROFILESEARCH

20 Liter Arcadia

Home Forums Fresh and Brackish Water Fishes 20 Liter Arcadia

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Fishwife 9 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Fishwife
    Participant

I’m going to set up my 20 litre Arcadia again, this time for my new Betta who’s at present living in a 10 litre tank, which is a bit on the small side.

As the tank will be in the new kitchen I don’t want to use gravel but as I’d like some plants (Crypts mainly) I was thinking of either Caribsea Tahitian Moon Black or CaribSea White Marine, but as this only seems to be sold in 20lb bags I was wondering how much I’d need to cover the bottom 30 x 25 cm to a depth of 1 ins, can you please advise me on that as I’ve never used sand before.

Also as I said this is an Arcadia Arc Pod with a 9 watt Arc Pod light, although I’ve used the tank in the past, I’ve never used the light as I wasn’t really keen on it, but now think it would look better in that particular position than the tall Superfish 18 watt light that I use now. AND, I was wondering if in the opinion of others this light would be OK to grow low light plants?

dunc
    Keymaster

QUOTE (Fishwife @ May 11 2009, 12:08 PM) < {POST_SNAPBACK}>
    I was wondering how much I’d need to cover the bottom 30 x 25 cm to a depth of 1 ins, can you please advise me on that as I’ve never used sand before.

Can’t really advise you on the lighting et al but Amy recently bought a 5kg bag of sand for her 30*30 tank and it gave her a covering of nearly 3 inches deep. 3kg (6.6lbs) should be fine for what you need

Bluedave
    Participant

Lighting should be fine – it’s about 2 WPG, although I find you need a bit more light in smaller tanks than larger tanks (with regards WPG). That should be fine for low light plants.

Matt
    Keymaster